Valentine’s Day Cards

Standard

I made two Valentine’s Day cards for my husband, and told him he could pick the one he liked best.  He said, “Why do I have to pick one?” So he got two cards for V-day!

He has allowed me to showcase them on my blog — he is proud of my work and likes to show it off. 🙂

Here is the first one:

samval1

This card he liked better, even though it is actually less perfect.  I smudged the cardstcok on the back and the inside noticeably when I was sponging on the ink.  And I thought I was being so careful!

But the sentiment on this one is more sentimental, so that’s why hubby liked it better.  If you can’t read it, it says, “You are the one.”

That sentiment epoxy sticker is from K & Company, and I designed the whole card around it.  When I saw it in my stash, I thought, I have stamps that look like that.  And those colors look like Distress Ink colors.

So, I sponged the card with Faded Jeans Distress Ink. The flowers and dragonfly are stamped in a mixture of faded Jeans and Dusty Concord — some are just one, some are just the other, and some have a mixture of both inks on the stamp.  The stamps are the Inkadinkado Meadow Flowers clear set ( I think that’s what it’s called, I can’t seem to find it right now!), an Agapanthus stamp and a Silhouette Wildflowers (?) stamp from Hero Arts.  I don’t know who made the dragonfly stamp, I’ve had it so long.

I dabbled a few dots of Glossy Accents on the back of the epoxy sticker, as in my experience those things don’t adhere very well.  Inside the card is a sticker from the same sheet that says, “Forever.”  I was able to position that sticker to cover up some of the smudges!

Here is the second card:

Filigree1

You can’t really see it in the picture, but that stamp is heat-embossed with three different types of red embossing powder — Recollections Ruby Opaque and Ruby Tinsel, and Stampendous Red Dragon, which is a red-gold mix.  It is quite glittery IRL!

This stamp set is called Filigree, from Mama Elephant. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it in a video on Jennifer McGuire’s blog. (Of course, I fall in love with half the stamp sets I see, so that’s no big thing.)  The tiny heart in the middle is colored in with my red Spica glitter pen. I wanted to add a red heart gem on top of the sentiment there, but the one I had was just a little too big, it overpowered the word Hi.  So I made do.

The hubster found the “Hi” sentiment insufficiently romantic, so in spite of all the glitter, he liked the other card better. 🙂  I’m touched.

He kept them both, though.  They are propped up on his bookshelf in his office.

Leave a Reply

