Something Different for Now

Standard

A break from the Dazzles.  I still have more techniques to try, but I also wanted to make this card for the current Fusion Challenge:

Fusion Challenge

Fusion Challenge

Fusion is a new challenge, and I like the idea of getting in at the beginning of a new challenge.  And I like the “Fusion” concept.  And, the challenge this week is butterflies.  I just love butterflies, they are one of my absolute favorite design elements.  I have so many stamps, embellishments, and patterned papers with butterflies, you have no idea.  Was glad to find a challenge to use them.

So here is the card:

Fusion2

I’m rather pleased with this card, because I used no stamps to create it, for a change.  (The last card, too, now that I think about it. Huh.)  Even the sentiment is a vellum sticker.  I believe I have successfully combined the Fusion Sketch and the inspirational picture, although my palette, though similar to the picture, is more pastel.  That is what I had to work with.

All these papers came from the same stack, an old Colorbok stack called “Pastel Breeze,” again one of the very first stacks I ever bought.  I’m sure it’s been discontinued by now.  I don’t often make a habit of using all papers and embellishments from the same stack or collection. I don’t feel the need to be limited that way.  But, paper collections are designed to work together by professional graphic designers who have way more experience than me, so there’s certainly no shame in using them that way!  It can sure make things easier if you are pressed for time or feel blocked.

The sentient sticker is from a pack called “Card Quotables” by K & Company.  That, too, has been hanging around my stash forever.  The butterfly sticker is from the same Colorbok stack, which has a few punch-outs and embellishments in addition to the paper.  Once I added it, I felt it needed some enhancement, so I outlined it with my Faded Lilac Seasonal Distress marker, the softest blue with the finest tip I could find.

Then, the card finished, ostensibly, I looked at it, and I felt it was in some sore need of bling.  Few are the cards of mine that lack any bling.  So I highlighted the body of the butterfly sticker with some pink gems.  Just two little pink gems, and then I could rest.

So I’m going to upload it to the challenge blog, and then I’m going to bed.  It’s hella late. Goodnight, and happy crafting!

UPDATE: I am also adding this card to the Crafting Musketeers Butterflies Challenge, and the Keep It Simple Challenge, Things with Wings, because … butterflies!

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

