SOS: Heavy Metal

Standard

I feel obligated to submit to the Shopping Our Stash blog now, because it is exactly in line with my own project.  So here is my entry for their latest challenge, Heavy Metal, which is to use something metal or metallic on your project:

IMG_1875

What’s metal, here, of course, is the Ranger foil tape, which I embossed with a Tim Holtz folder. (Fun fact: this foil in the folder is what jammed up my eBosser as described in my last post. I figured, why not use it?)  I lightly brushed the foil tape with my black StazOn ink pad, to highlight the texture.  I then mounted it on white glossy paper and then black cardstock.  The circus-alphabet style of this Fiskars sentiment seemed to go with the kind of steampunk feel of the thing.

I added some black enamel dots and clear gems to bling it up and enhance the color scheme, and that’s it.

Unfortunately, my Picasa software, which is what I use to edit my photos, has mysteriously crapped out, so this photo is the best of the unretouched batch that I have.  Can’t even crop it.  My PC is a MacIntosh, and I find the included iPhoto maddeningly opaque to use.

I realize if I keep up with this, I am going to have to learn to take and edit better pictures.  It seems like an awful lot to master,though.

7 responses »

  1. Hello thanks for visiting my blog, it’s appreciated. I finally had some time to read through your blog to find what you meant regarding no purchasing craft tools/stash. I actually have the same goal for at least six months. Your card is beautiful, the embossing on the foil tape creates great texture & design. Happy Sunday, Shirleyx ps.. yes I’m lucky to be on the Design Teams of two wonderful companies

  2. This is a great card! Sorry that foil tape jammed up your machine but we benefit with this great card! Thanks for sharing with us at Shopping Our Stash this week.
    Blessings,
    Michelle

  3. Ohhhhhhhh awesome awesome awesome!! I love what you’ve done with the foil tape (sorry it jammed up your machine though!!). Thanks for playing along with the “heavy metal” challenge at Shopping Our Stash!

  4. Hi Kirsten,

    Boy, have I been a bad bloggie friend about visiting! I’ve just spent a long time catching up on the last month and I enjoyed myself immensely! That was something about the machine jam and well-written on the interactions w/ the hubs. So real. Only mine would have said, WTF?! And he, too, would have kept on until he got the right tool and unjammed the *&*&%!! Too funny.

    Having said all that, I have to say that this card is unique and spectacular!! What an amazing design and texture you ended up with!

    I’m loving your cards and glad to see you in the challenges. It was, for me, a great place to make friends and get readers. So many of us are more conscious now of our “footprint” and trying to use our stashes so you are right on-trend!

    Anyway, I hope you make more cards! BTW, this photo I was able to enlarge and see in all its wonderful glory, but the one above on your latest post would not enlarge, which is a shame. I thought you would like to know that.

    Have a great week and I’ll try to get around more often. Hugs, Darnell

    • I’ve noticed that, that the “use your stash” thing seems to be on trend. LOL, how strange, since I was trying to get away from trends.

      Thank you for the comment about the eBosser post. I’m a creative writer, too, I’ve published a couple short stories.

      I’ll take a look at that picture and see what is going on with it. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

