Updated the Stash Yet Again

Standard

Argh, I keep finding stuff!  I have updated the stash yet again:

  • alcohol inks
  • a sumi-e (Japanese ink painting) kit my dad gave me for my birthday last year
  • Bo Bunny Serenity Collection Kit
  • Vintaj Patina inks and metal blanks for jewelry and charms

The alcohol inks I have used a fair amount, but I feel I haven’t really stretched their capabilities yet — I’ve really just done the “faux stone” technique on glossy paper, and used them to color a couple metal charms.  I bought them, because one of my favorite parts of papercrafting is trying out new tools and techniques.  But once I did the obvious things with them, I really didn’t know what else to do with them.  Any suggestions?

The Japanese ink painting kit was a gift from my Dad.  He admires my papercafting; I was touched that he got me a crafty gift.  I have tried it, and not had much success — as I’ve said, I’m just not good at painting, I just have no instinct for how to control wet media like paint or inks.  But I saw a book at the library, and maybe if I study up on it I can have more success.

The Bo Bunny kit is an Asian-themed kit, so I got it, because I love Asian-themed stuff, and just squirreled it away.   I got it super-cheap a while back on Steals.com, so I don’t feel too bad about it.

The Vintaj Patina stuff I got cheap on Blitsy.com, because I liked the idea of it, but like so much other stuff, once it got home it went into a drawer and was forgotten about. I also got several of their Deco Etch and Deco Emboss folders to use in a die-cutting/embossing machine, to texturize the metal blanks.  The idea is, you emboss a pattern in the blanks, then color them with the Patina, and then sand them to reveal the pattern in relief against the Patina.  Really, it doesn’t look that hard.  I just need to sit down and try it.

And so, it gets added to the list.  The ever-growing list …

One response »

  1. I’ve been papercrafting for 20 years and wouldn’t even try to list all the stuff I’ve accumulated. I purge often, giving to friends or pitch it in the trash. I quit buying embellishments 2 years ago and don’t regret it. I’ve missed out on the washi tape and twine trends. I don’t want to get sucked into the sequin trend…..oh help me!

    Silliness aside, it’s great fun finding like minded people, trying to get rid of their stash.

    Traci (Depleting My Stash)

Leave a Reply

