Watercolors: Embossed Resist 2

Standard

Another less than successful attempt at watercolor resist.

 

waterhello

Here I black heat-embossed a background stamp onto the watercolor paper, and painted it in a mix of green, orange and brown shades.  I was going for a more masculine presentation.

I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of trouble with black heat-embossing.  If you heat an embossed image too much, the embossing powder overheats and sinks into the paper, leaving a flat, blurry line instead of a raised, shiny one.  This seems to happen double-fast with black powder — probably because it is black and thus absorbs energy more and faster than other colors.  For me, it happens more often than not, and it happened here too — half the image is over-embossed and flat.  It is so fractured an image, it was hard to tell what was embossed and what wasn’t while heating it. (The stamp is an Impression Obsession Cover-a-Card background stamp called Distress.)

Given that half the embossing is overdone and sunk into the paper, it didn’t pool the watercolors very much.  Well, I mounted it on a kraft card, added a sentiment and called it a day. I sponged the edges of the panel with Tea Dye Distress ink, because I felt it needed something to separate it from the kraft, but didn’t want to go to the trouble of cutting another panel to mount it on.

I guess it looks OK. Like Jennifer McGuire often says, you may not like a certain card because it fell short of what you were envisioning.  But the person to whom you give it only knows that you hand-made a card for them, and they are perfectly happy with it. I’ve found that to be true.

UPDATE: I am entering this card into the Craft Hoarders Challenge, as the challenge is to use metal or glass. The sentiment on this card is metal, and it is really the focal point of the card, so it seems appropriate.  I was just checking up on everyone in my blogroll, and found that challenge — so why not?

20 responses »

  1. And I agree about that, too, Kirsten … the eye of the beholder is different in all of us. From where I sit, your card looks perfect and, anyway, the nature of the design allows for fractured embossing and watercolor pooling. It all looks like you planned it that way! That’s your story and you should stick to it! I happen to love how it turned out! Have a great week! Hugs, Darnell

    • Thanks, Darnell, you’re kind. It’s true that if you set something aside for a few days, when you come back to it, it often looks not as bad as you remember.

  2. Your card looks great to me! Very masculine feel and those colors are wonderful! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  3. Great card! I think it looks fine. =) I also thought I was the only one who had troubles with black embossing powder! I guess it’s not just me.

  4. I have found that I have better results with heat embossing if I use a stamp with “thicker” edges. This map is so detailed and finely sketched, I think it would be very challenging to emboss. You did a great job, and I love the watercolor effects! The metal sentiment is a great focal. I actually really love this card, and think you did a fantastic job! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  5. Gee, I didn’t notice the MATTE embossing powder; I was looking pretty carefully too. That stamp is great, but I bet if the paint hadn’t traveled, it would look exactly like a map. Thank you so much for mentioning about the black embossing powder. It takes an observant user to discover theses things.
    Thank goodness you noticed the challenge, because I might not have seen your wonderful card, had you not. Thank yo for sharing this fun card.

  6. This is great! And love the metal word. I wonder if embossing powder gets “old” as I sometimes have an issue with some that “overheats” as well. And I have powder that is 20 years old! Yikes! LOL Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

    • Hi, Gloria. Tim Holtz says it doesn’t “go bad,” but Lindsay the Frugal Crafter says it can. So I guess we just have to go with our own experience. 🙂

  7. This is a great take on the Metal or Glass Challenge at Craft Hoarders Anonymous Challenge Blog. Thanks so much for playing along! Hugs from Ginny at Polly’s Paper Studio!

  8. Pingback: Side Project: Embossing Powder Comparison | Crash Your Stash

Leave a Reply

