NBUS Challenge

Standard

My blog friend Darnell is having a card challenge to celebrate having 500 followers on her blog.

 

button aqua

 

The challenge is to use “never before used stuff” (NBUS in her terms) — so of course I am going to join that!

Here is my card:

 

NBUS

What is NBUS in this card is the stamp set, which is called “Simply Susan” by Paper Wishes/Hot off the Press, and the American Crafts Chromatix alcohol markers I colored it with.  I decorated the flower centers and the leaf tendrils with glitter glue and Liquid Pearls, but those are def not NBUS.

I am going to send this card to my Mom.  She has not been feeling well lately. I hope it will cheer her up.

Over on Simon Says Stamp’s Monday Challenge Blog, they are also running a stash-crashing challenge —  “I Should Use This More.”  So, yay!  So I am entering that challenge too.  This must be my week!

13 responses »

  1. How cool that Simon is getting in on the use it up movement at the same time! I’m glad you were able to enter both of our challenges, Kirsten! Your mom will definitely be cheered up by your very pretty and very beautifully colored card! It’s a cool design!! Thank you so much for your support!! Hugs, Darnell

  2. Wow! I absolutely adore this card! I am a color-holic, so the bright happy colors really inspired me. I am so impressed with your coloring skills, too! These looked so professional and I really like the color palette you chose. I am usually too chicken to use white, but you’ve made me re-think that because I love how your flowers and sentiment pop so boldly off of that white background! All in all, this card is remarkable and made me happy just looking at it. Great use of not-often-used stuff and I really enjoyed how you interpreted our challenge. Thank you so much for sharing your talents with us here at the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Blog!

    • Don’t be afraid of the white space! But remember, once you stamp or stick something down, you can’t pick it up again. A lot of the time, less is more.

      The Chromatix markers come in graduated shades of three, so they make for easy blending. that’ what I like about them.

  3. Saw your card on Darnell’s NBUS Challenge and had to take a peek up close! This is just stunning!!! Such bright and gorgeous colors on those fun flowers!!! Your mom will love it and be cheered each time she looks at it.
    ❤ J

    jwoolbright at gmail dot com
    HerPeacefulGarden.blogspot.com

  4. Gorgeous card! I love the colours! Great design, too. 🙂 Thanks for visiting me! I couldn’t respond to your question on my blog because you don’t have an email attached to your profile, so I visited here. The black inks I use are usually Memento Tuxedo Black or Memento Luxe Tuxedo Black. They are both crisp, and the Luxe is a pigment ink so thicker and dries slower.

  5. Love the bold colors on the flowers in the corners! And what a great sentiment too. Awesome coloring on the blossoms too. You’d asked what TAWS is, and it’s The Alley Way Stamps. They’re fun, funky, and good quality – I can attest to that. Have a great weekend. : )

Leave a Reply

