SYS – Outline Stamps

Standard

This is my attempt at Debby Hughes’s stamping and coloring on wood project, and it is not great:

 

SYS4

 

The wood here is birch veneer, and it is very porous — even the VersaFine with which I stamped the image bled out.  Why did I stamp and emboss in black instead of white? I dunno, just habit I guess.  The birch is darker than the balsa wood Debby used, so I used brighter colors. Not sure that was a good call.  I used my cheapest alcohol markers, the American Crafts Chromatix.  (Which are not good markers, I do not recommend them.)  You can see where the purple bled out really badly.

The sentiment says “Simple joys,” and it is a Tiny Words Dazzle peel-off sticker.  It was silver, but I colored it black with a Sharpie.  Damn, maybe I should have left it silver!

The little buds or berries on the stem are filled with Key Lime Liquid Pearls.  Because Liquid Pearls is good at that, and I have so much of it, I need to use it.

The birch veneer and the Liquid Pearls are NBUS.

I was planning to leave this as an Artist Trading Card, but it occurs to me just now, that if I stick it on a card with some busy patterned papers, its deficiencies might not be so evident.  I don’t know, I have to think about it.

3 responses »

    • Thank you! The black ink did bleed, but if I’d stamped in VersaMark, it wouldn’t have been an issue. And a lighter touch with the alcohol markers is probably called for.

Leave a Reply

