Something Different

Standard

 

Christmas cards aside, I’ve been feeling kind of … bored with cards lately.  My card box is overflowing, I need to send out many of the ones I have before making any more.

I’ve been wanting to try something different.

So I did.  Here is a little pendant.

 

 

Tile1

 

 

It is a tile pendant from a kid’s kit I bought:  Tile Art Necklaces by Creativity for Kids. (NBUS)

I don’t have any kids of my own, but I like to buy kid’s art kits: they don’t cost very much, they include everything you need to try a new project or technique, and since, you know, they’re for kids, you’re relieved of any pressure to make it great.  It’s just a child’s toy.  The quality of materials isn’t great — but if you find a technique or project that you like, you can invest in better tools and materials if you make more of them.

So this starts with a glazed ceramic tile, 1 in ch square.  I stamped and trimmed a piece of neutral decorated paper, stamping with the Chinese ideograms.  I affixed the paper to the tile surface with several layers of Mod Podge.  After a few layers I realized with annoyance that the Mod Podge I have is Matte and not Gloss — and it dries very matte indeed.  So I topped it off with a layer of Glossy Accents.  I added a small sprinkle of gold glitter on top of the Mod Podge before applying the Glossy Accents, and embedded a black gem in the Glossy Accents.

The kit comes with self-adhesive ribbon to finish the edges of the tiles. Glue a finding on the back and it is done.

I like it OK.  I’ve been wanting to combine papercrafting and jewelry making for a while, so I think I will make more of these.

Thanks for looking.  Leave a comment if you like seeing me branch out.

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Tile Necklace 2 | Crash Your Stash

Leave a Reply

