Chocolate Baroque Challenge

Standard

I have some stamps from the company Chocolate Baroque in my NBUS stash, and I found out they have a challenge blog, so I thought I’d give it a try.  CB is a British company, and it cost a small fortune to buy these stamps across the pond, but they are so beautiful I thought it was worth it.

The challenge is to use these four colors:

CB Challenge 8

Which i thought would go well with the stamps in their Asian-themed Tranquility set.  I like the sunset gradient, too, so this is what I came up with:

Peace2

I used alcohol markers on glossy cardstock to make the background.  The bodhisattva image is from the CB set, and the sentiment is from an Inkadinkado set called Calligraphy Expressions.  I added the gems to balance the composition.  The card base is a dark midnight purple; I forget the brand.

Anybody have any suggestions on how to win at challenge blogs?  I go through phases when i enter a lot, but I have yet to win.  Well, wish me luck.

4 responses »

  1. Oh that stampset is lovely indeed. The sunset fits the image very well, it is a moment to be at peace. As for your suggestions on how to win: I have none, except to participate. I’ve won once in all the time I participated in. I used to participate in more challenges but now I don’t have the time, I only take part in about 3 monthly challanges now (Designs by Ryn, Chocolate Baroque and Vandicrafts). The first two are my favourite brands of stamps, so I’d love to win there. As for Vandicrafts – Melissa is a nice person, the challenges are easy (It is easy to combine with one of the other two challenges usually) and it’s another wordpress site (which makes it easier to comment).
    I’ve limited the challenges to the ones where it’s either fun to participate, and/or the price to win is something I like. Often there are prices which aren’t really what I would buy or use myself, also with Candy, so I don’t participate. I’m trying to limit my consumption of craft goods, running out of storage :P.
    I love your blogtitle, I try to use up my stash as well although i sometimes can’t resist the urge to get new things..

    • Oh, I didn’t know Designs by Ryn had a challenge, I love her stamps. I try to, but I can’t resist buying new stuff too. I have so much stuff I can’t remember where everything is anymore. I need an overhaul, I think. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for your entry into the Chocolate Baroque challenge. Your graduated card looks fab, and the tranquility set go really well with this layout as you say, like the addition of the gems, it does give that feeling of balance.
    We choose our winner by Random.org, so it is very much luck of the draw, you have to take part to be in with a chance, that’s all I can say. Good luck! Hope to see you back again next time around, a new challenge starts this week, Judith xx

Leave a Reply

