Patterned Paper 3: Abrianna

Standard

My next patterned paper project is a series of cards done with an old 12×12 stack from K & Company called Abrianna.  I bought this stack back when I first started papercrafting, and along with it I also bought for the first time a lot of the accompanying embellishments: layered stickers, diecuts, chipboard. (They were on sale.)  So many, I never realized I would be hard pressed to use them all!  Back then I would buy a lot of stuff at one time, because I didn’t know then that every paper and craft company came out with a whole new line every six months.  I thought I had to stock up.

I bought the embellishments because I wanted to see what it was like creating with a coordinated suite of products, see if it was any easier or better.  It is easier, as everything is designed to go together, but I enjoy the creativity of bringing disparate products together for my work.  If you are pressed for time, or are feeling creatively dry for a while, working with a collection is a good fix.

Aubri1

I have actually used this stack, Abrianna, rather a lot, but I found a project to use it some more.  These cards are based on an article in the January 2015 issue of CARDMAKING & PAPERCRAFT magazine. (Bowman, Nikki, “Forest Friends,” CARDMAKING AND PAPERCRAFT, January 2015, Issue 139, pp. 74-75.)*

The article is about how to use a paper collection and the accompanying embellishments to put together some quick cards.  I have followed Bowman’s lead — square kraft card bases, two layers of patterned paper, and finished with the diecuts or other embellishents.  Her collection had sentiment diecuts, but I have had to go elsewhere for mine.  The card with the peacock has a stamped, embossed sentiment, and the other three are stickers.

The “True Friends” collection from Fancy Pants in the article, which has a more autumnal palette, geometric shapes, and animal diecuts, and the Abrianna collection here could hardly be more different in style or color palette, but this is a good template to follow to work with many themed collections, I think.  If you’ve followed my blog at all you know how much I enjoy contrasting bright colors with kraft cardstock.

The lower right card is kind of a hot mess — I wasn’t thoughtful about where I put the word stickers.  But there’s no dismantling it now, so I’ll live with it.  A little girl might like that card.

The peacock card didn’t work with the double-matted squares of paper — he, the peacock, is just too big and overhung the paper and it looked unbalanced and messy.   So I modified it and I think it works well.  I would have liked to use a stamp that said “Congratulations,” (you know, proud as a peacock) but I didn’t have one that fit.

The sentiment on the upper left says, “Sending my very best.”

These are supposed to be quick cards, but they haven’t been quick for me.  I have been struggling lately to find the time and the inclination to craft.  I plan to make ten cards in this set and give them away as a gift.  But it’s been taking me so long I figured I’d better show you what I have.

I would like to enter these in Darnell’s NBUS Challenge #5, for although I have used the Abrianna collection a lot, the sentiment stickers I used on three of the cards are new. Hah!

*I am a librarian by trade, so you know I have to cite that article correctly!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Patterned Paper 3B: The Last of Abrianna | Crash Your Stash

  2. Good to see you again, Kirsten!! Your awesome cards are an inspiration for using up the hoards of patterned paper that exist in craft rooms all over the world!! Thank you for playing in my NBUS Challenge #5 ~ so long ago! I’m sorry that my nursing duties have delayed me in coming by to thank you. Enjoy your day! Hugs, Darnell

Leave a Reply

