Patterned Paper 4: Painted Fancy

Standard

#cpstampofapproval

#sharehandmadekindness

Having moved on from the Abrianna stack my last projects were from, I dug through all my 12 x 12 stacks and selected my next project: a stack from Recollections called “Painted Fancy.”  This stack was obviously published to cash in on the recent hot watercolor trend in papercrafting.  Not a bad call, as the trend was incredibly hot for a long time, but many crafters, not trained artists, are (like myself) afraid of the unforgiving nature of watercolor paints.  The stack has a mix of painted-looking patterns and colored washes, many with glittered elements.  It’s nice, in soft pastel colors.

Here’s the first card:

Painted1

(Which you can see I have placed upon the stack itself so you can get a glimpse of it — aren’t I clever?)   🙂

I used a 5×6.5 Recollections pre-scored card base and mounted a section from a page with random colored washes and soft printed text as a background.  I used a larger sized card base so you could see more of the DP.  The greeting is a stamp and diecut from the first Catherine Pooler Stamp of Approval kit, from CAS-ual Fridays.  I highlighted the “friend” diecut with Glossy Accents, which you can’t really see in the picture, but looks cool IRL.

I embellished it with some unusual square sequins from Doodlebug Design — square, because I am intending to send this card to a male friend of mine.

And that’s it.  Watercolor effects, as reproduced in this paper, are usually colorful and interesting enough that you want to let them stand on their own.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

