The 30 Day Color Challenge

Standard

Over at her blog, The Daily Marker, Kathy Racoosin is hosting a 30 Day Color Challenge in the month of February.  Kathy is a papercrafter whose first love is coloring.  She has hosted this challenge several times.  I crapped out of the last one after only a couple days, but I am more committed to this one.  I’m hoping it will help me revive my creativity (see last post).

There will be blog hops and prizes and giveaways, but mostly it is for the creativity.  You can post your creations in the Inlinkz on the initial post, and use the hashtag #thedailymarker30day on social media.

For the first day Kathy posted a very elaborate diecut card which I didn’t feel up to CASEing. But I could replicate her coloring technique, which was adding color to diecuts with sponging.

 

30day1

 

I punched these flowers out of neon cardstock, and sponged the tips of the petals with Hero Arts Neon dye ink to give some subtle — very subtle — depth.  If you read my blog at all, you know one of my favorite things is to pair bright colors with kraft cardstock.  So that’s what I did.  The sentiment is from Newton’s Nook’s Beautiful Blossoms set.  I was going to add a neon yellow rhinestone to the center of the flowers, but I decided I liked the black enamel dots instead.  They pick up the sentiment. Most everything on this card except for the kraft cardstock, the black ink and the enamel dots are NBUS.  Yay!

I’m feeling pretty good about this challenge, and am looking forward to it.  You can join n at Kathy’s blog, The Daily Marker.

 

8 responses »

  1. Your yellow flower with the black dot looks almost like a sunflower! This is my 2nd challenge with Kathy and I’m enjoying it as much as I did before. It’s good practice and get some projects done that I needed to do!

Leave a Reply

