Flower ATCs

Standard

 

Here are the two ATCs I made this weekend:

 

ATC Flowers

 

They are similar, but why not? I am trying to keep this project relatively simple, doable.

I did the one on the left first, then the one on the right.  You can’t tell so much in the pic, but the black is corrugated cardstock.  I wanted to contrast the liner corrugations with the fluffy flowers.  In hindsight, it might have been nice to spray the cardstock with some Perfect Pearls mist or such, but at the time I liked its blackness and wanted to use it to background the bright flowers.

The second one is a burlap ATC blank that I picked up at one of the big-box craft stores.  I sprayed it with Heidi Swapp Color Sprays in teal and gold.  The charm, and all the paper flowers, are from Recollections.

I brushed some Mod Podge around the edges of the burlap ATC to keep it from completely unraveling, which it would have over time.

The sentiments are stickers from two sets by Tim Holtz, “Chit Chat”(single words) and “Small Talk” (phrases.)  I quite like using them. They are versatile.  “Embrace imperfection” is a message to myself — I want my projects to be perfect, and can get very upset if they’re not.  Which of course they never are — nothing is.  I need to learn to let go somewhat.

The charm, the ATC blanks, and the Color Sprays are all never-before-used stuff. (NBUS)  So happy when I can accomplish that in a project.

So it is May 9, and I have made five cards.  I’m pretty far behind, but I am off work tomorrow and Wednesday and i plan to catch up.  I was thinking maybe I would do a triptych, three cards making one scene.  We’ll see.

That’s all for today. Thanks for reading.

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I like what you did there! I had saved some flowers fallen of a very big beachbag, fake fabric flowers. Wanted to use them, but had saved them for 8 years and they were only in the way, so I tossed them out recently. I find it difficult to use embellishments in combination to stamped cards. It’s like two things fighting for the attention of the looker. So I like what you did, and like the simple black, it does make the flowers the center of the attention.
    I like burlap but have no clue how to use it, as it’s thicker and indeed unravels. I especially like the contrast between the coarse, hard burlap and the soft, felt (I think?) flowers. I don’t think they are that similar except for layout maybe. It’s like the left one fits a modern home with hard edges, shiny surfaces and white,black, grey as basic colours. The right one is a more cosy home, more natural, warm, applepie and welcoming. Both work well 🙂

    • Well thank you! 🙂 The flowers on the burlap one are fuzzy paper. I like the black on e better as I’m not a country, shabby chic kind of person, but you can’t escape that look with the burlap so I used it.

Leave a Reply

