Today’s ATCs

Standard

Well these cards are not great, but they are done.

ATC Fancy

 

The stamps are from an Inkadinkado set called Fancy That, which I got on clearance at Marshall’s, or I would not have bought it.  I was rummaging through my unused stamps, and these images looked about the right size for an ATC.  I colored them with Staedtler Triplus Fineliner pens.  Which I would not recommend!  The Fineliners are not made for coloring — they have super-fine tips, and the ink doesn’t move much, so you have to scribble around and around, and the image comes out scratchy.  If you get what I’m saying.  They are really more writing pens, good for journaling and Zentangling.

Anyway, I did the top one first. I wanted it to have a fun rainbow vibe, but it just looks disorganized.  I restricted the color palette on the second one to blues and greens, and I think that works better.

They really needed something besides the doodle starkly colored on the white Bristol paper, so I sponged them both around the edges with Distress Ink: Spun Sugar for the top, and Tumbled Glass for the bottom.  It did help to ground them.

Both the stamp set and the pens are NBUS. I’m really making a dent in my uncrashed stash with this ATC project!

Haven’t decided what to call them yet.  I may go back and try to pretty them up a little bit; I may not.  Any suggestions?

 

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Quite bold stamps.. I get what you mean about the fineliners. Annoying thing usually is you can’t stop – going over it with another pen still shows differences in colour. At first I thought you had added glazing to it, so it had a bit of a glass-in-lead look, that fits the bold lines. I do agree the second one is more coherent due to the colours, probably because the colours in the first one are scattered / not repeated. I think you shouldn’t add more stamping to it, maybe just the glazing or some highlights with a white pen at several places. I think those samps would look great in Delft Blue colours as well – stamp with a Royal Blue colour, a light blue colour for some accents and shading.

Leave a Reply

