New (to me) Challenge Blog

Standard

 

Hello all.

I’ve found a new (to me, anyway) stash-crashing style challenge blog.  It’s called the Retro Rubber Challenge, and the challenge is to use your old stamps — stamps that are older than one year.  You can read the rules here.

They rotate between Sketch, Color, and Theme challenges, and you have two weeks to play along.

This is a good challenge because many of us get so hung up on buying new, new, new stamps and sets that we forget all about the older ones that we used to be just as enamored of.  We buy a stamp thinking, well, I’ll be able to use it forever, but we seldom do.  We move on to new acquisitions.  Craft hoarding and acquisitiveness is a real problem among crafters, I think, why is why I started my blog in the first place, to combat that tendency in myself. I hope it has helped some of you as well.

Here is my entry in their current challenge, which is a sketch challenge:

 

ATC Hexlove

 

The focal piece in the sketch is a circle, but I thought, why not a hexagon?  I love hexagons, such a balanced, pleasing shape.  Once I had that idea the card came together pretty quickly.  I’ve enjoyed doing the ATCs, so I’m continuing with that.

The stamp for the challenge is the background, the Hero Arts Hexagon Background. And the first time I posted about it was in May 2014, so it is definitely more than a year old.  I used Deco Foil for the embellishments.  I love Deco Foil! And a Tim Holtz sentiment sticker.  An appropriate sentiment, because I love papercrafting, and right now I love ATCs.

Wish me luck!  In the challenge, I mean.

Supply List

Crescent Cardboard Mixed Media ATC blank, silver

Hero Arts Hexagon Background stamp

Staz-On Teal Ink

hexagon chipboard, unknown (Maya Road?)

Recollections double-sided adhesive sheets

Glossy Accents (adhesive)

Green and Blue Deco Foil

Tim Holtz Small Talk sentiment stickers

 

8 responses »

  1. Well, hello, hello!!!!! and thank you for playing along with us at Retro Rubber. You hit the nail right on the head, we crafters tend to buy new stuff all the time and our old and, at once beloved stamps are forgotten in a drawer or box not seeing ink in ages. Well, this challenge blog is right up our alley, it gives you the chance to give life to your old images once again.
    I love your card, I love the color you used on your background stamp, so bright and fun, your focal point is gorgeous with that beautiful Deco Foil.
    We are so happy you found us, Woo Hoo!! and hope you continue to use your old stamps, create more beautiful cards share them with us in the gallery.
    Big Hugs,
    Maria Rodriguez.

  2. Well, hello back, and thank you, Maria. The background is stamped in Staz-On Teal ink. I think the hexagon chipboard is from Maya Road? It’s been a while and I just have them in a bag in a drawer. I should probably add a supply list to the post. Thanks for hosting the challenge!

  3. I am so glad that you found our blog challenge! We love our older sets and love bringing them back out to play with new papers and embellishments. Love the colors and textures with your card! And you are so right about the hexagon shape being pleasing!! Hope to see you in our gallery often!

  4. This is so retro – LOL – perfect for our Retro Rubber challenge! So happy to found us and look forward to seeing you in our gallery again soon.

Leave a comment